REVIEW: Batman / Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1

G’Day Crusaders,

Dodgy86 is back in the mix, bringing you Batman and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1 by James Tynion IV with art by Freddie E Williams II and Jeremy Colwell.

Who would’ve thought you’d see the day of a Batman & TMNT crossover? Ironically titled Knights in a Half Shell, the scene is set when a clan of ninjas raid a science lab with a goal to confiscate the high powered equipment, their efforts were hindered by four meta-humans wielding weapons! (Who could they be?) It is up to the Caped Crusader to unravel these disturbances!!

It’s nice to see this book is not a one-shot, because the story is given the freedom to spread out without feeling rushed and also it has the best of both worlds! You meet the anger of Raph, the stiff leader in Leo, the nerd in Donnie and the clown in Mikey within a few panels. These are the characteristics TMNT fans would be familiar with and referencing is consistent to the franchise, considering it is written by a staple DC guy in Tynion.

The Batman chapter in this book touches on his referencing as well especially the dialogue between Bruce and a disgruntled Alfred. The dialogue in this book enhances the characters and builds the overall direction of the story and Williams’ art is very underrated (his previous new 52 Atom books were gorgeous to the eyes) and made the action scenes look like they popped out of the Nickelodeon TV show! This Batman reminds me of the Arkham console franchises!

For fans of Batman and TMNT, or fans of crossovers this won’t disappoint and it’s worth buying upon release or waiting for the TPB or graphic novel. Do ya’self a favour and check it out!

2820 More posts in Reviews category
Recommended for you
REVIEW: Agent 47 Birth of the Hitman # 2

Synopsis: Our story opens in 1989. A young girl is given a gun with the...